Viaduktstr. 42, 4002 Basle

Social security agreements

With which countries have social security agreements been signed?

Switzerland has concluded social security agreements with the following countries: Australia, Chile, India (applicable legislation), Israel, Japan, Canada/Quebec, Macedonia, People's Republic of China without Hongkong, Macao, Taiwan (applicable legislation), The Philippines, San Marino, South Korea (applicable legislation), Turkey, Uruguay and USA. For the time being, the agreement with Yugoslavia applies to Serbia, Montenegro and Bosnia and Herzegovina.

Furthermore, social security agreements also exist with all EU member states (except for Romania, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Poland) as well as with Liechtenstein and Norway. These remain applicable to those cases which are not covered by the agreement between Switzerland and the EU or the EFTA agreement.

The list of country agreements as well the texts of the agreements with the EU and EFTA and the EU regulations are available here.

More Information: